Dave Mason Unplugged: War Memorial Auditorium / Nashville TN / February 23, 2013

Surprise guests are common at shows in Music City and last night’s performance by Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Dave Mason’s acoustic trio was no exception. While I briefly pondered the unlikely reunion of Dave with the only other surviving member of Traffic, Nashville-area resident Stevie Winwood, it was another local resident that got to briefly grace the War Memorial stage with Dave. Bonne Bramlett, along with her daughter Bekka, joined Mason for a rendering of his “Only You Know and I Know,” a song that Delaney & Bonnie made famous in 1972. After the rousing rendition that brought the late-in-their-years crowd to their feet, Dave coaxed the ladies back to close the main set for his “Feelin’ Alright,” another of his songs best known for the cover version, this one by Joe Cocker.

Dave Mason 1

The singer was in great vocal form all night remarking how after 50 years performing he still sings in his original key. One of classic rock’s better-known guitarists, Dave did share some of the lead guitar duties with young Jonathan McEuen, who expertly carried on in the tradition of his dad, John, of Nitty Gritty Dirt Band fame. McEuen sang lead on two numbers including a tender version of “Sad and Deep as You” from Dave Mason’s 1970 debut solo LP, Alone Together.   In all, five of the album’s eight tracks were performed.

Dave Mason 2

Early on in the set, Mason did three Traffic numbers in a row, oddly including two that he did not sing with the band.  He also gave us two of his big radio songs from his 1970’s solo career: “We Just Disagree,” penned by late band mate Jim Kruger; and “Let it Go, Let it Flow.” One of Dave’s other radio staples, “Every Woman,”only got a brief appearance in the set when Dave told the tale of getting a compliment on the song from Bob Dylan—returning the nod by giving us a few lines of the song in a great impersonation of Mr. D. And, speaking of Dylan, the evening ended with a version of “All Along the Watchtower,” a song that Dave recorded in tribute to the classic Hendrix version—an honor he truly deserves having played backup acoustic on Jimi’s original recording.

Dave Mason 3


  • World in Changes
  • 40,000 Headmen
  • Dear Mr. Fantasy
  • You Can All Join In
  • Can’t Stop Worrying, Can’t Stop Loving
  • We Just Disagree
  • (Unknown) (Instrumental)
  • Sad and Deep as You  (Jonathan McEuen on vocals)
  • Ain´t Your Legs Tired Baby  (Jonathan McEuen on vocals)
  • Let It Go, Let It Flow
  • Good 2 U
  • How Do I Get To Heaven
  • Just a Song
  • Only You Know and I Know
  • Feelin’ Alright


  • All Along the Watchtower

Dave Mason – Lead Vocals, Guitar
Jonathan McEuen – Guitar, Vocals
Alvino Bennett – Drums
Special Guests:
Bonnie & Bekka Bramlett – Backing Vocals on “Only You Know and I Know” and “Feelin’ Alright”


  1. Nice post- I need to go research this song “every woman” – it’s not the one that goes “I’m every woman….” Is it? Look forward to more blog posts –

    1. Thanks Daniel–I’ve added a link so that this great song can he listened to.

  2. You have such a nice writing style Mike. I look forward to reading more of these.

    1. Thanks Dave–I appreciate the comment and look forward to writing much more.

  3. Tony Sacchetti · · Reply

    Everything you do is first class Mike and this is another display of that. I last saw Dave Mason in 1981, so it’s great to get a current concert report. Make sure you’re nice to Bonnie Bramlett – we know what can happen if you’re not! Thank you for turning me on to this blog, I’ll be sure to be a frequent visitor.

    1. Thanks Tony–I hadn’t seen Dave myself since 1980.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: